Awarded for the first time in 1963 to encourage epilepsy research in Germany, today the MICHAEL-PRIZE is one of the most highly regarded international awards for the best contributions to clinical and experimental research which promote further developments in epileptology.


The MICHAEL-PRIZE is awarded biennially and is specifically addressed to younger researchers
not older than 45 years of age. The prize money is 20.000,- Euro.

Since 2006 the MICHAEL-PRIZE is kindly sponsored by UCB Pharma S.A. or a subsidiary of UCB Pharma.


The MICHAEL-PRIZE will be awarded for research in one of the following fields:

  • Clinical neurophysiology
  • Neuropsychology, psychology and psychiatry
  • Epilepsy genetics

MICHAEL-PRIZE 2019 Award Winner

The Michael-Prize 2019 was awarded to
Stéphanie Baulac (France) and Birgit Frauscher (Canada).

The applications submitted will be rated by an independent jury consisting of:

Heidrun Potschka, Munich, Germany
Yushi Inoue, Shizuoka, Japan
Jean Gotman, Montreal, Canada

The final decision will be taken by the Board of Trustees of the Michael Foundation; legal recourse is excluded.

The MICHAEL PRIZE 2019 is kindly sponsored by UCB Biopharma S.P.R.L.