Sibylle Ried
Dr. med. Sibylle Ried
(29-08-1956 – 14-06-2000)

The members of the jury are:

Dr. med. Günter Krämer (Chair)
Neurozentrum Bellevue Zurich / Switzerland

Ingrid Coban
Social pedagogue, Epilepsie-Zentrum Bethel, Bielefeld

Dr. Gerd Heinen
Psychologist, Berlin

and in an advisory role
Dr. med. Matthias Ried
Brother of Sibylle Ried, Frankfurt am Main

Legal recourse is excluded.



The SIBYLLE-RIED-PREIS has been awarded in German-speaking countries since 2001; it is named after Dr. medical Sibylle Ried (29. Aug. 1956 – 14. Jun. 2000).

Sibylle Ried was a pioneer in informing and training people with epilepsy and thus improving their treatment and advice. She worked closely with those affected.

The prize is intended to honor outstanding achievements by people and groups who, in the spirit of Dr. Ried, improve treatment and quality of life in the areas of neuropsychology, psychology, rehabilitation, social work, self-help work or similar for people with reached epilepsy.

The prize is endowed with € 2,500 and is awarded every two years at the joint annual conference of the German, Austrian, and Swiss section of the International League Against Epilepsy.

The prize money is put together from funds of the MICHAEL FOUNDATION as well as revenue of an endowment contribution, to which the following institutions and people have contributed: Aventis Pharma, Bayer AG, Boehringer-Ingelheim Intern, B.V. Prohema, Desitin Arzneimittel, GlaxoSmithKline, Janssen-Cilag, Sanofi-Synthelabo, Blackwell Wissenschafts-Verlag, the Ried family, Anna Ruths, Frauke von Thümen, Adolf Messer Stiftung, and others

Apply for the SIBYLLE RIED PRIZE 2025 ...

Application for the SIBYLLE RIED PRIZE 2025

Any forms of publications, documented activities and methods that target an improvement in the care and living conditions of people with epilepsy can be used to apply for the SIBYLLE RIED PRIZE.

The language of the documentation must be German, and the work must take effect in Germany, Austria or Switzerland by a group located there.
There is no requirement for a certain profession or age. Re-application is generally possible.

Application deadline is December 31st, 2024. The papers/work must also be submitted by this time.

After submitting your application, you will receive an e-mail with a password-protected link to upload your work and documents (PDF preferred). Please submit documents and media that are not available in electronic form or that cannot be accessed via link/download or that cannot be uploaded (e.g. due to their file size) by post to the MICHAEL FOUNDATION (mailing address see footer).


Alsstrasse 12
53227 Bonn

Phone:   +49 228 - 94 55 45 40
Fax:         +49 228 - 94 55 45 42